How do I remove this well seal???

Plumbing Forums

Help Support Plumbing Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samched

Reaction score
I am in need of pulling my submersible pump but am struggling to undersntad my well seal and how to get it off. See pictures below. Previous house owners built an addition over the well so the trap door is what I am working out of. The spilt-top well seal and bolts are very rusted to the point I cannot even begin to loosen the nuts without them rounding over.

To remove the seal, my GUESS is I will have to force the seal off even with the bolts/nuts tightened down. I started playing with this with a pry bar and started to get the one side of the seal to budge but didn’t want to push it. At this point I am thinking I have two options:
  • Keep prying on the well seal (the seal is slightly larger in dimeter than the casing, leaving a small lip to pry on) until it comes off and proceed with pulling the pump.
  • Cut the plastic pipe going to pressure tank so everything is freed up, and apply upward pressure to the drop pipe somehow while simultaneously prying on the well seal.
I am partial to option 2 but I have a few uncertainties… I don’t fully understand how the drop pipe/pump is supported/what is bearing all the weight. In videos I have seen on well seals, the drop pipe slides freely in the seal, but that doesn’t seem to be the case in my set up because then the elbow fitting above the seal would be sitting flush on top of the seal. Does the seal squeeze the drop pipe when installed/tightened to the point it bears all the weight? And if so, if I remove the seal, is everything going to want to fall down in the well?